A Television Series From

Library of Congress Logo

This fall, C-SPAN launches a new series, Books That Shaped America. We're partnering with the Library of Congress to explore key works from American history that have had a major impact on society. These books have provoked thought, have been best sellers, have led to significant public policy changes, and are still talked about today.

Our series will mark the various eras of American history and feature a diverse mix of stories and authors. They include Thomas Paine's Common Sense, the first autobiography of Frederick Douglass, Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, Willa Cather's My Ántonia, Free to Choose by Milton and Rose Friedman and The Words of César Chávez. Programs will feature studio guests, your comments, and visits to key locations around the country related to these famous books and their authors.

Our 10-week series will air LIVE on Mondays, starting September 18 at 9pm ET on C-SPAN.

companion podcast

companion resources
our partner

Common Sense
The Federalist
History of the Expedition Under the Command of Captains Lewis and Clark
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
The Common Law
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
My Ántonia
Their Eyes Were Watching God
Free to Choose: A Personal Statement by Milton and Rose Friedman
The Words of César Chávez