Constitution Clips: "Bound by oath"

The Swearing-In of Senators Jones(D-AL) and Smith (D-MN)

Two new members were sworn in as the Senate opened the first day of the second session of the 115th Congress. Senator Doug Jones (D-AL) replaced Luther Strange, who lost in a special election Republican primary runoff to fill the seat formerly held by U.S. Attorney General Jeff Session. Senator Tina Smith (D-MN) was appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to replace former Senator Al Franken, who resigned.