U.S. Senate Chamber Seating Chart
Senate Session - January 19, 2018

In a 50-49 vote, the Senate failed to invoke cloture on a bill to avert a government shutdown. Republican Senators Mike Lee (UT), Jeff Flake (AZ), Lindsey Graham (SC), and Rand Paul (KY) and all but five Democrats voted against the measure. The five Democrats voting “no” were Joe Donnelly (IN), Claire McCaskill (M), Joe Manchin (WV), Heidi Heitkamp (ND), and Doug Jones (AL).Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) voted against the bill for procedural reasons.

A three-week stopgap measure that would have funded the government through February 8 also failed.



    116th Congress - Senate
    Total Hours: 0 (After 0 days)

      Click a category within the legend to toggle its visibility.

      Source: Resume of Congressional Activity (senate.gov)