$1.9 Trillion COVID-19 Relief Bill
Senate Session - November 17, 2020

The Senate confirmed three U.S. District Court judicial nominations: Kristi Haskins Johnson for the Southern District of Mississippi; Benjamin Beaton for the Western District of Kentucky; and Toby Crouse for the District of Kansas. Members voted against 47-50 against limiting debate on Judy Shelton's nomination to the Federal Reserve Board of Governors. Republican Senators Susan Collins (ME), Mitt Romney (UT), and Lamar Alexander (TN) and all Democratic senators voted against Ms. Shelton's nomination. Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) switched his vote from "Yes" to "No" and then filed a motion to reconsider, allowing for a second cloture vote at a later date. Republican Senators Chuck Grassley (IA) and Rick Scott (FL), were not present. Senator Grassley was quarantining after testing positive for COVID-19, and this was the first time he had missed a vote in 27 years. Senator Scott was also quarantining after being exposed to the virus.

9:59AM - 12:18PM ETSenate Session, Part 1 2:15PM - 7:25PM ETSenate Session, Part 2


    Briefings for November 17, 2020

    View all Congressional News Conferences

    Hearings for November 17, 2020

    View All Senate Hearings
    117th Congress - Senate
    Total Hours: 176 (After 62 days)
    • Debate73 Hours
    • Quorum Calls37 Hours
    • Votes32 Hours

    Click a category within the legend to toggle its visibility.

    Source: Resume of Congressional Activity (senate.gov)