Senate Session - January 20, 2021

Vice President Kamala Harris swore in three new members: Georgia Senators Jon Ossoff (D) and Raphael Warnock (D), and Senator Alex Padilla (D-CA). Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) was sworn in as president pro tempore of the Senate. Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY) gave his first speech as majority leader and Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) made his first remarks as minority leader. In an 84-10 vote, members confirmed Avril Haines' nomination for Director of National Intelligence.

4:29PM - 7:09PM ETSenate Session


    Briefings for January 20, 2021

    • No Briefings Covered
    View all Congressional News Conferences

    Hearings for January 20, 2021

    • No Hearings Covered
    View All Senate Hearings
    118th Congress - Senate
    Total Hours: 186 (After 85 days)
    • Debate35 Hours
    • Quorum Calls27 Hours
    • Votes61 Hours

    Click a category within the legend to toggle its visibility.

    Source: Resume of Congressional Activity (